Seventh Edition of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year announced

November 20, 2021 11:46 am0 commentsViews: 5
New Delhi: It’s that time of the year again when we salute the ambassadors of brand India. 2012 has been an important year in the history of India. From instances of individual brilliance to examples of nation building, this year has given rise to a set of Indians, who are proud to wear its Indian identity on its sleeve. To honour the contribution of these role models, CNN-IBN is back with the seventh edition of the prestigious Indian of the Year awards.One of the biggest and most credible awards in Indian media, the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2012 will recognize the Indians whose contribution to the country in a calendar year has strengthened the foundation of our society. These iconic Indians will be honoured at a glittering ceremony in New Delhi on December 12, 2012. They will be chosen from five categories: Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business and Public Service.

The voting for ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year, 2012’ starts on Monday, Nov 19th and will continue till Sunday, Dec 2nd. All the details of the event including the nominees in each category can be viewed at the

Instituted in 2006, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year has been the benchmark for credibility and excellence in media awards. The awards are held in high regard for precision, providing complete information about the process of nomination and selection of the final winners. The selection adheres to a unique and transparent selection process that includes nominations from the IBN Editorial Board, authorised by the Jury, and the voting by the Electoral College and the Citizens of the country.

Over the years, the recipients of this prestigious award have included Prime Minister Manmohan Singh (2006), E Sreedharan (2007), G Madhavan Nair (2008), A R Rahman (2009), Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar (2010), and Anna Hazare & team (2011).

Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, said, “We take immense pride in presenting the 7th edition of Indian of the Year awards. It’s our endeavour to recognise the achievers, who continue to take the nation forward with their determination and fortitude, and bring them forth as an inspiration for others. We at CNN-IBN are privileged to honour the winners with these awards that have garnered immense respect over the years and are the most accredited awards of the year.”



Leave a Reply