NAMIC announces winners of 2015 Next Generation Leaders Awards

NAMIC (National Association for Multi-ethnicity in Communications), has announced winners of the 2015 Next Generation Leaders Awards.

The Next Generation Leaders Awards will be presented during the NAMIC Annual Awards Breakfast.

This year’s honorees are Eddie Hill, senior vice president, Consumer Marketing, BET Networks; Quincy Johnson, vice president, Digital Advertising Systems, Media Software and Services, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.; Jessica Rodriguez, executive vice president and chief marketing officer, Univision Communications Inc.; and Chandni Thakrar-Ochoa, vice president, Technology Integration, Suddenlink Communications.  Held as part of INTX: The Internet & Television Expo (formerly the Cable Show), the NAMIC Annual Awards Breakfast is scheduled for Thursday, May 7, 2015, from 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. CDT at McCormick Place Convention Center in Chicago, Illinois.

Presented in partnership with Multichannel News, the Next Generation Leaders Awards honor executives of color for demonstrating exceptional business acumen, while exemplifying NAMIC’s mission to educate, advocate and empower for multi-ethnic diversity and inclusion in the communications industry.  Awards are presented in four categories: Cable MSO, Cable Programmer, Technology Company or Discipline and Creative Discipline.  Executives of color age 45 and under were eligible for nomination.  This year’s winners, Hill (Programmer), Johnson (Technology), Rodriguez (Creative) and Thakrar-Ochoa (MSO) were selected from a distinguished group of nominees.

“Through our education, leadership and professional development programs, NAMIC is continually working to ensure that our industry has access to a robust pipeline of executives of color,” said Eglon E. Simons, NAMIC’s president and chief executive officer.  “With the support of our event sponsors and industry partners, NAMIC is honored to have the opportunity to celebrate this impressive group of leaders that are contributing to the success of their respective companies, while advocating for increased diversity and inclusion.”

In addition to the top four honorees, the 2015 Next Generation Leaders Luminaries class includes ten emerging executives who are demonstrating a high level of business acumen, while fostering diversity and inclusion.

Luminaries class members are: Fernando Alem, vice president, Corporate Systems & Compliance, Discovery Communications; Aja Byrd, vice president, Business & Legal Affairs, Al Jazeera America; Jennifer Giddins, vice president, Marketing, Sprout, NBCUniversal; Dawn Holiday-Mack, vice president, Audience Strategy & Insights, El Rey Network; Tina Perry, executive vice president, Business & Legal Affairs, OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network; James Rollins, vice president, Digital Video Distribution, Affiliate Sales and Marketing, Disney and ESPN Media Networks; Freddy Rolon, vice president, Programming and Business Initiatives, ESPN Deportes; Rydne Williams, vice president, Field Operations, Comcast Cable Corporation; Inae Wilson, senior vice president, Broadcast Distribution, FOX Broadcasting Company; and Julie Yoo, senior vice president, Corporate Development, Scripps Networks Interactive.

Simons added: “We applaud these companies and all that have nominated their employees for this award. By doing so, companies are joining NAMIC in casting a well-deserved spotlight on our industry’s diversity champions, while conveying the importance of advocating for multi-ethnic and multi-cultural inclusion in all aspects of business.”

David Preschlack, executive vice president, Affiliate Sales and Marketing, Disney & ESPN Networks Group is the Honorary Chair for the 2015 NAMIC Annual Awards Breakfast. The Planning Co-Chairs for this year’s event include Kevin Stephens, president, Commercial & Advertising Operations, Suddenlink Communications and Michelle Strong, senior vice president, Distribution, National Accounts, A+E Networks. Stephens and Strong are also members of the NAMIC Board of Directors.

Event Sponsors of the 2015 NAMIC Annual Awards Breakfast include the National Cable & Telecommunications Association, Univision Communications Inc., Cisco, REVOLT, Crown Media, NCC Media, NBCUniversal, OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network and Scripps Networks Interactive.


Leave a Reply