TOI bags ‘‘Advertiser of the Year’’ award

The Times of India Group has won the first Spikes Asia ’09 ad festival’s ‘‘Advertiser of the Year’’ award for its ‘‘Lead India’’ campaign.

‘‘The Lead India programme endeavoured to bring a new breed of political leaders into the political arena by creating a highly-visible platform where new candidates could showcase their vision, ideas and skills to lead the country. It encouraged millions of ordinary Indians to offer their opinions to help choose India’s next generation of leaders,’’ Spikes Asia said.

The Lead India initiative, which evaluated applicants on their ability to lead the country while still being able to work within the constraints of the current political system, was launched on August 14, 2007. The first phase, spanning August and September 2007, consisted of inviting people to come forward and participate in the programme. This was held across eight Indian cities Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Pune and Ahmedabad. During the second phase, starting October 2007, a winner was selected from each of the eight participating cities. The national finals, held from December 2007 to February 2008, resulted in the selection of a national winner.

Says Terry Savage, festival chairman: ‘‘Year on year, we continue to see The Times of India pushing the boundaries. This is a brand that is not afraid to step beyond the line by encouraging creative thought and passion both in its readers as well as in its marketing and advertising campaigns.’’

Commenting on the win, Bhaskar Das, executive president of the Times of India Group, said: ‘‘The winning idea is the magic bullet. A mould breaker, a convention shaker; it pulls the ordinary by the scruff of its neck, and takes it into the incredible. Through The Times of India campaigns, over the years, be it ‘Lead India’, ‘Teach India’, ‘TOI Chennai launch’, we realised that these ideas are humbling in their simplicity, and powerful in their ability to change the world around us.’’

The Advertiser of the Year trophy will be presented to Das in Singapore during the awards ceremony at the Victoria Concert Hall on September 18.

Courtesy: Times of India

Leave a Reply