Pulse Sets Sail with Monsoon Cup

Kuala Lumpur : Pulse Group PLC, an Asia’s leading digital research agency listed on the London PLUS Exchange, are teaming up to compete in the upcoming Monsoon Cup Qualifiers 2010 in Terengganu, Malaysia.

Team PULSE will be skippered by 21 year old Hazwan Hazim Dermawan, the defending champion of last year’s Monsoon Cup Qualifiers, where he sailed under the banner of team Taring Pelangi of Terengganu. He hopes to retain the crown this year for his home state of Perak Darul Ridzwan and his sponsors.

The Monsoon Cup Qualifiers (also known as the Malaysian Match Racing Championship 2010) will be held from October 20 – 25, 2010 at the purpose built world class match racing venue of Ri-Yaz Heritage Marina in Pulau Duyung, Terengganu, Malaysia.

Hazwan, who also competed in the 2008 edition as part of the winning Perak Sailing Team, has retained most of his young crew from last year’s winning team, with whom he aims, with the support of Pulse Group PLC, and hopefully the Ministry of Sports and other Malaysian youth sailing supporters, will be the first fully Malaysian and home-grown team to compete on the World Match Racing Tour on a full time basis.

Bob Chua, Pulse Group PLC – CEO an expert sailor himself says, “Pulse strongly believe that yacht racing develops team work, responsibility, focus, confidence and character and other invaluable life skills particularly amongst our youth. We are proud to support Hazwan’s team, a truly Malaysian home-grown team, contending in this international world class event, with the hope that they will gain much of these skills from the Monsoon Cup Qualifiers and hopefully use and share them to bring Team PULSE and the Malaysian youth to the next level”.

The crew members of Team PULSE are : 1. Skipper, Helmsman and Tactician : Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (21 years old, Malaysian) 2. Genoa Trimmer and Spinnaker Trimmer : Syed Ahmad Syahmi Syed Ahmad Hilmi (20 years old, Malaysian) 3. Bowman : Muhammad Izzat Samdin (19 years old, Malaysian)
4. Mainsheet Trimmer : Mohd Hafizi Roslee (22 years old, Malaysian) 5. Pit Man : Hazairul Muhammad (29 years old, Malaysian)

The winner of this championship will be the sole Malaysian representative at the Monsoon Cup 2010, the final and deciding leg of the World Match racing Championships to be held on November 30th to December 5th 2010. Past winners of the championship included Adam Minoprio who went through the ranks of the Monsoon Cup Qualifiers to become the World Match Racing champion.

Leave a Reply