Nitish Kumar is the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2010

New Delhi : The verdict is out. Chief Minister of Bihar, Nitish Kumar was declared as CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2010 in a glittering ceremony held in the Capital. The Chief Guest, Hon’ble Finance Minister Shri Pranab Mukherjee graced the occasion in the presence of the crème de la crème of the country.

Nitish Kumar was also declared the recipient of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2010 in the Politics category. He was awarded for his manifold achievements for changing the vocabulary of politics and putting development on the centre stage thereby triggering hope amongst millions of citizens in Bihar that translated into an unprecedented majority for his alliance in the recently concluded Bihar Assembly Elections.

The award ceremony will be telecast on CNN-IBN on 30th December from 9:30 p.m. onwards.

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year ‘10 recipients :CNN-IBN Indian of the Year & in Politics category: Nitish Kumar ,Sports Category: Sushil Kumar
Business: Kumar Mangalam Birla ,Entertainment: Shankar ,Public Service: Ladakh Ecological Development Group & SEEDS India ,Lifetime Achievement: M S Swaminathan.Special Achievements: J Gopikrishnan, Shillong Chamber Choir and Indian Women’s Relay Team of Manjeet Kaur, Sini Jose, Ashwini Akkunji, Mandeep Kaur.

CNN-IBN also honoured M.S. Swaminathan with the Life Time Achievement for his outstanding leadership in the field of agriculture and the impact of his work in ensuring food security for millions of Indians.

The event witnessed the Special Achievement awards that were given to journalist J. Gopikrishnan for bringing the telecom scandal to light years ago through consistent, continuous and focussed reporting and follow-ups, much before the rest of the media picked it up. The Shillong Chamber Choir, the North-Eastern musical group that put the cultural and music talent of their region on the national map by winning India’s Got Talent – 2, and the Indian Women Relay Team who won the Gold medal in the 4 x 400 meters relay at the Asian Games and the Commonwealth Games 2010 were also recipients of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year – Special Achievement Award.

For holding the distinction of being the first Indian wrestler to win the World Championship and a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games in the same year, Sushil Kumar India’s shinning sports star bagged the award in the Sports category.

Kumar Mangalam Birla, India’s leading industrial tycoon who has succeeded in various business endeavours, including ventures in sunrise sectors was coveted as the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year in the Business category.

Wooing audiences with the blockbuster sci-fi movie of the decade – Robot, Shankar was bestowed with the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year in the Entertainment category for being a film-maker with an unbeatable track record of hits in Tamil Cinema.

Working with a sole mission to improvise the livelihood of people residing in the remote and mountainous area of Leh by building environment friendly, flood and quake resistant housing through community participation Ladakh Ecological Development Group & SEEDS India are the recipients of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year in the Public Service category.

Speaking on this special occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, said, “CNN-IBN Indian of the Year is our earnest effort to pay gratitude to all those exceptional individuals across different categories whose extraordinary efforts have brought pride and honour to our Nation. A pinnacle of Indian achievement, this award adheres to the unparalleled four-tier selection process, involving the participation from the citizens and also the contemporary Indian leaders from different fields. We congratulate all the winners for their extraordinary contribution to the country.”


Leave a Reply