New CASBAA Board Announced

The Cable & Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CASBAA) on Monday announced the results of its 2007 Annual General Meeting elections in Hong Kong to the CASBAA Council of Governors, the CASBAA Board of Directors and the CASBAA Chairmanship for 2008/2009.

Marcel Fenez, Global Managing Partner, Entertainment and Media Practice of PricewaterhouseCoopers was re-elected for a two-year term as Chairman of the Association.

Newly elected to the CASBAA Board of Directors (the CASBAA management Board) were Tom Keaveny, EVP and Managing Director of Discovery Networks Asia; Todd Miller, Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Asia of Sony Pictures Television International (SPTI) and Anthony Tse, President, China Entertainment Television Broadcast.

Meanwhile, Jonathan Spink, CEO of HBO Asia; Peter Jackson, CEO of AsiaSat; Sompan Charumilinda, Executive Vice Chairman, TrueVisions and William Pfeiffer, CEO of Celestial Movies retain their seats on the CASBAA Board. Ian Carroll, SVP and GM, Turner International Asia Pacific was re-elected for a second two-year term as a CASBAA Board Director.

Stepping down from the CASBAA Board of Directors are Nic van Zwanenberg, Regional Director, Distribution and Business Development, BBC Global Channels, James Ross, Regional Director, Granada International and Tom Choi, Co-founder & CEO, Asia Broadcast Satellite.

Also elected for two-year terms to the CASBAA Council of Governors, the Association’s most senior advisory body, were:

Stephen Ng, Chairman, President and CEO, HK Cable TV

Christine Leo-McKerrow, SVP, BBC Global Channels, Asia

Manu Sawhney, Managing Director, ESPN STAR Sports

Mike Reynolds, President, StarHub

Sue Taylor, VP and GM, NDS

Surh Dong Koo, President & CEO, KDB SkyLife

Alexander Muller, Managing Director, TV5MONDE Asia

Andrew Jordan, Vice President & General Manager, SAT-GE

Mark Patterson, CEO, GroupM

Craig Harvey, Director Media Research, Synovate

Michelle Guthrie, Managing Director, Providence Equity Asia

Nick Pibeam, Managing Director & Founder, ITSun Limited

Paul Brown-Kenyon, COO, MEASAT


Gregg Creevey (Individual)

Retaining seats for the second of two-year terms on the CASBAA Council are:

Christine Fellowes, MD Asia, Comcast International Media Group; Craig Zimbulis, President and COO, Anytime; Gabriel Pimentel, President & CEO, Mabuhay Satellite; Hugh Stephens, SVP, International Relations & Strategic Policy, AP, Time Warner; Ian Barnard, President, MIH Asia; Jeanette Chan, Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison; Jeremy Pink, President & MD, CNBC; Juno Henares Chuidian, VP, Program Packaging and Merchandising, SkyCable; Malcolm Spry, EVP, VNU Global Media Services, AGB Nielsen Media Research; Nigel Francis, Partner, Minter Ellison; PJ Wong Founder, Chairman and CEO, iMediaHouse; Susan Ho, Head of the Creative, Media & Tech Industries Team, Standard Chartered Bank and Thierry Raymaekers, Director, Marketing Asia Pacific, Irdeto.

Patron members of the Association receive an automatic seat on the CASBAA Council of Governors.

According to Mr Fenez, during 2008 the Association will focus on the increasing impact of mobile technologies and the further development of pay-TV advertising. He also noted clear signals from the CASBAA Council of Governors that the Association should step up initiatives in India and China, while continuing to engage with the regulatory authorities in multiple markets and promote industry development in Indonesia, Vietnam, Korea and India among others.

“The next 12 months promise to provide a banner year for the pay-TV industry across the region and CASBAA’s role will be to support industry growth where ever it can,” said Mr Fenez.

Leave a Reply