National Foto Contest Winners Announced

Vivek Desai of Ahmedabad has bagged the first prize for Black & white and Colour in the 20th National Photo Contest organized by the Photo Division, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India.

To commemorate the 150 years of First War of India’s Independence and 60 years of Independence, Photo Division organized a unique Photo Contest on the theme “Spirit of Independent India”. A total of 1157 photographs were received from 294 participants from 16 States (Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Chattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, New Delhi, Orissa, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal).

Anirudha Pal and Shri Supriya Biswas of Kolkata got the second prize and Shri Girish J. Kingar and Shri Upendra Upadhyay of Indore got third prizes in black and white and colour section respectively. Ten Commendation Awards for black and white photographs have been announced for S/Shri T.Srinivasa Reddy of Andhra Pradesh, Hemendra A.Shah of Ahmedabad, Prasenjit Dhar of Asansol, R.V.Shiddhaye of Mumbai, Puranjit Gangopadhyay, Chinmoy Bhattacharjee, Dines Mukherjee and Avijit Datta of Kolkata and O.P.Soni of Indore. The Commendation Awards in colour section have been announced for S/Shri Nitin Khatri of Indore, Subhashis Basu, Partha Pratim Das, Jayanta Shaw, Partha Samal, Supriya Biswas of Kolkata, Devendra Sharma of Ratlam, Pravin Barnale, Ashu Patel, of Indore and Ambuj Soni of Dewas, Madhya Pradesh.

The first prize carries a cash prize of Rs. 20,000/-, the second prize Rs.15,000/- and the third prize Rs. 10,000/- while the commendation prizes carry Rs. 2,000/- each alongwith a citation and a memento.

The Jury Members selected 83 prints from Black & White and Colour in addition to the 26 award winning pictures for display in the exhibition

Leave a Reply