Ministry of Information Broadcasting Declares National Photo Contest Results

Ministry of Information & Broadcasting , government of India on Monday announced the winners of National Photo Contest .Kishor Kumar of Trivandrum and Girish J. Kingar of Indore have been declared as the winners of the first prize, which carries a cash of Rupees twenty five thousand, a Plaque and Citation, for colour and black and white section respectively.

The second prize for colour went to Amit Fadtare of Indore and for black and white to Sandipan Majumdar of Kolkata. Third prize in colour went to Ranjan Basu of Delhi and in black and white to Avijit Dutta of Kolkata.

The prizes were given by Sushma Singh, Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting who also inaugurated an exhibition of the award winning and selected photographs from the contest at the Gallery of Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts. The Exhibition will remain open till 6th January 2009 between 11 A.M. and 6 P.M. She commended the efforts of Photo Division in capturing the momentous events in the history of our country visually and preserving them for the posterity. In this context she underlined the efforts of Photo Division, which is in the process of digitalization of nearly seven lakh photographs available in its archive for their better preservation as well as quick transmission across the globe whenever needed.

Photography has been a powerful medium of expression and communication, and it has always enjoyed a pride of place in the field of journalism. Photo Division of the Ministry has not only been meeting this need of the media but also encouraging the talented photographers to come up by holding the Annual Photo Contest, She added. Smt. Stuti Kacker, Addtiional Secretary in the Ministry highlighted the contribution Photo Division which made available rare photographs from its archives for organizing Azadi Express, an exhibition on wheels, to mark 60th anniversary of India’s independence

In addition to top three prizes, Commendation Awards were also given to Shyamal Kumar Roy, Writwik Chakraborty, Chinmoy Bhattacharjee, Aniruddha Pal, Sudip Roychoudhury, Jayanta Shaw, Gautam Basu, Suman Chatterjee and Shankar Mondal of Kolkata, Adit Agarwala of Delhi, D.V. Jadhav of Dewas, P. Karunkakaran, P. Musthafa of Kerala, T. Srinivasa Reddy of Vijayawada, B.S. Sondhi of Haryana, Nitin Khatri of Indore, Chetan Soni of Madhya Pradesh and Suresh Parekh of Vadodara.

Prize money for the Second, Third and Commendation Awards are rupees twenty thousand, fifteen thousand and five thousand each in addition to the citation and plaque.

These Awards have been selected from a total entry of 2206 photographs both in black and white and colour, which were received from 506 entrants from 25 States/U.T.

Selection of award winning photographs as well as photograpshs for display in the exhibition was done by a Jury comprising O.P. Sharma, a noted Pictorialist from Delhi, Anil Risal Singh, a Photo Artiste & President of Lucknow Camera Club, Lucknow, T.S. Nagarajan, an eminent Photo Journalist, and former Director of Photo Division from Bangalore, Stuti Kacker, Addl. Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and Debatosh Sengupta, Director, Photo Division.

Leave a Reply