McCaan Worldgroup wins Agency of the Year, Cadbury bags Client of the Year at Mirchi KAAN awards

Mumbai: The most imaginative and ground-breaking radio commercials heard across FM Radio in the year of 2010 were honoured at the 8th Mirchi KAAN Awards on 28th September, Wednesday at The Comedy Store, Mumbai. McCaan Worldgroup won some of the most coveted awards, emerging as the winner of the evening.

Introduced in 2004, The Mirchi KAAN Awards is the only platform to recognise and honour creativity in radio advertising. The jury of the Mirchi Kaan Awards includes the biggest names in Indian advertising. The 8th Mirchi KAAN Awards paid homage to these very gurus of the industry by introducing this year’s theme ‘Imitate Your Idol’. Running in its eight year, the Mirchi KAAN Awards and its esteemed jury received approx 250 entries from creative as well as media agencies across various categories.

In a memorable and enjoyable evening, the ad professionals were seen cheering for their winning teams as the winning radio spots played on air and industry stalwarts such as Sam Balsara, LV Krishnan, Raj Nayak and Roshan Abbas went up on stage to honour the awardees. Cyrus Broacha, the emcee of the evening kept everyone entertained with his wit and the audience clapped and lauded as Drum Cafe, the drum band from South Africa, kept everyone entertained

Mr. A.P. Parigi, Board Director ENIL awarded the most coveted awards of the evening – Agency of the Year to McCann Worldgroup and Client of the Year to Cadbury India. Among the other key awards, The award of Best Use of Radio as a Medium was won by Mindshare for ‘Ajab Prem ki on-air kahani’ for Idea Cellular, Lingo India won the “Production House of the Year”, Naman Jain was the “Voice of the Year” for radio caption “Moment of Weakness – Father Son’, created by Leo Burnett, and
‘Radio writer of the year’ was won by Team McCaan.

Prashant Panday, CEO & Executive Director, ENIL (Radio Mirchi) said, “The Mirchi KAAN Awards has proved to be an exemplary success among the advertising fraternity. We are proud to associate with the who’s who of ad industry as our jury The Mirchi KAAN Awards is now synonymous with excellence in creativity in Radio.

The Kaan Jury is a veritable list of stalwarts comprised of established names in the business like Prasoon Joshi, Bobby Pawar, K V Sridhar, R Balakrishnan, Ravi Deshpande, Agnello Dias, Priti Nair, Josy Paul, Senthil Kumar, Deepa Krishnan, Suguna Swamy, K.S Chakravarthi, Ramanuj Shastry, Ashish Khazanchi, Sunil Thoppil, Ramesh Ramanathan, Prathap Suthan, Rekha Nigam, Ameer Jaleel, Amit Akali, Manoj Shetty and Malvika Mehra.

Leave a Reply