Indian of the Year 2014 winners Announced

CNN-IBN-Indian-of-the-yearRecognizing the remarkable achievements and contributions of Indians who have tirelessly worked towards strengthening India’s foundation in the last calendar year, CNN-IBN today announced the winners of its prestigious Indian of the Year Award 2014. At a star-studded awards ceremony held in New Delhi, winners across Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business, Public Service and Global Indian categories amongst others were announced and felicitated by the Chief Guest the Hon’ble Vice President of India, Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari.

Instituted in 2006, this is the ninth edition of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year. Over the years, the awards have achieved prestige and credibility unmatched by others in the media industry. The awards adhere to a transparent and unique selection process that includes the IBN Editorial Board drawing a list of nominees, further ratified by a Jury panel, consisting of a select group of distinguished personalities, bestowed with the most prestigious Padma honours.
The grand finale of the award ceremony will be telecast on CNN-IBN on 21 March, Saturday at 2:00PM followed by a repeat at 8:00 PM.
The winners across different categories are:

Arun Jaitley: For proving his dynamism by eliminating all ambiguity and unresolved leadership issues within the BJP, post the Vajpayee – Advani era. A man for all seasons, he has played a crucial role in projecting Narendra Modi as BJP’s PM candidate

Jitu Rai: For his phenomenal record that started in June 2014 with three World Cup Medals including a Gold, followed by the Commonwealth Gold, a world championship Silver, an Olympic ticket and last but not the least, India’s first Gold at Incheon – a remarkable feat from an Indian shooter.

N Chandrasekaran: For his ability to push boundaries that has made Tata Consultancy Services amongst the most valuable IT services companies in the world. Under N Chandrasekaran’s leadership the $13 billion-plus software gorilla has sprinted way ahead of others in growth and valuation metrics.

Chetan Bhagat: For being a literary superstar whose bestsellers have been adapted into record breaking movies and who has introduced millions to English fiction. An investment banker, an author of seven best-selling novels and now a screenplay writer, Chetan Bhagat’s versatility is inimitable.
Tongam Rina: For continuing her journalism of courage in the face of extreme adversity. Not even bullets could silence this journalist! Even after being shot at close range in 2012, Tongam Rina, the Associate Editor of Arunachal Times continues to write against injustice.

Satya Nadella: For successfully breaking the glass ceiling at the largest software company in the world. The third CEO in technology giant Microsoft’s history, Satya Nadella has successfully turned Microsoft into a company with a much broader and holistic view and driven a new level of openness.

K Chandrasekhar Rao: For leading the oldest statehood movement of India to realization and helping create India’s 29th state – Telangana. A mass leader who resuscitated the Telangana movement, K Chandrasekhar Rao is now the first Chief Minister of India’s newest state.

P Vijayan: For being the force behind the Student Police Cadet Project and initiating several novel schemes to promote education among poor children. IPS officer P. Vijayan’s own journey from a child labourer to an IPS officer is an inspiration to many.

Kangana Ranaut: For being amongst the few actresses in the Hindi film industry to have successfully carried films as a protagonist. Kangana stirred up the nation with her critically applauded performance in Vikas Bahl’s commercial success Queen followed by an experimental film Revolver Rani.

Pankaj Advani: For adding to his amazing legacy in Billiards and Snooker and raising the profile of these sports in India. The only Indian to have won twelve World titles at 29, Pankaj Advani created history by winning an incredible Four World titles in 2014.

Kailash Satyarthi: For being at the forefront of the movement to end child slavery. Kailash Satyarthi founded and leads the ‘bachpan Bachao Aandolan’ organization that has rescued over 82,000 children from a life of exploitation. An engineer by profession, Satyarthi has dedicated all his efforts to combat child labour and child trafficking
Azim Premji: For launching the Azim Premji Philanthropic initiative in 2014 to fund non-profit organizations working in key areas like nutrition, disabilities and governance. Premji has given away more than four billion dollars in the last four years, making him one of India’s biggest philanthropists.
The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO): With a committed team of scientists and engineers, ISRO has proved itself time and again as one of the best teams in cracking the mysteries of space exploration. It made its mark with Chandrayaan, its mission to the moon and now with its Mars mission, Mangalyaan, India has stamped its mark as a major space power.

Narendra Modi: In 2014, India witnessed an epic political battle, at the centre of which was none other than Narendra Modi. Running a never seen before electoral campaign, addressing over 450 rallies across the country, Modi finally won what he called ‘the Verdict of Hope.’ He is our Indian of the year 2014 for making the story of Lok Sabha elections 2014 – the story of Narendra Modi.
Speaking on the occasion, Avinash Kaul, CEO, IBN Network said, “It has been our privilege to have felicitated some of the most successful Indians who have made the nation proud and set an example for all of us. I extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the winners of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2014”.
Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-IBN, said, “It is our great pride and pleasure that CNN-IBN Indian of the Year is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the country today. The award is our earnest effort to appreciate the outstanding contribution of our fellow Indians and their allegiance in making India shine. I wish all the winners hearty congratulations.”


Leave a Reply