IB Ministry Announces the Winners of Spirit of Independent India Contest

Union Minister of Information & Broadcasting and Parliamentary Affairs, P. R. Dasmunsi presented awards to the winners of the National Photo Contest on Friday. To mark the 60 years of Independence, Photo Division organised its 20th National Photo Contest on an unique theme “Spirit of Independent India”.

Vivek Desai of Ahmedabad bagged the first prize for both the sections (black & white and colour). Anirudha Pal and Shri Supriya Biswas of Kolkata got the second prize in black & white and colour section respectively, where as Girish J. Kingar and Shri Upendra Upadhyay of Indore got third prizes in the Contest. The first prize consists of Rs. 20,000/- the second prize Rs. 15,000/- and the third prize of Rs. 10,000/-. In addition, a citation and a plaque is distributed to the winners. 10 commendation prizes in both the section were also awarded.

In his remarks, Dasmunsi said that photography preserves history and carries forward a message for the future. Appreciating the creativity of a photography artist the Minister said that a photographer captures images, which can be enjoyed for generations to come. Referring to the nuances of good photography, the Minister said it is an art as well as science.

Secretary (I&B), Asha Swarup in her address said that despite new technologies, still photography has retained its relevance and has continued to fascinate the viewers. Photo images are more lasting and leave an imprint on the viewer’s mind. Our endeavour is to reach the photo exhibition to the other parts of the country as well as at various places within the capital so that maximum number of people can see it and appreciate this art, she added.

A high level jury comprising of Shri Sondeep Shankar, National Editor of ‘The Hindustan Times’ Delhi, Shri Hoshi Jal, Photo Editor of ‘Times of India’ group, Mumbai, Padmashree Virender Prabhakar, former Chief Photographer of ‘Hindustan’, Smt. Stuti Kacker, Joint Secretary (P) from Ministry of I&B and Debatosh Sengupta, Director, Photo Division screened all the entries and selected the award winning as well as photographs to be put up for Exhibition. 294 photographers from 17 States sent 1157 photographs for the competition, which is in two sections black & white and colour.

Dasmunsi also inaugurated the Exhibition of the award winning and selected photographs at National Bal Bhavan, New Delhi, where it will be on till January 05, 2008. The next phase of the Exhibition will be held from 15-21 January 2008 at AIFACS Gallery, New Delhi.

Leave a Reply