Glamour Announces Women of the Year Award Winners

Glamour magazine announces its annual Women of the Year tribute with 10 extraordinary and inspirational winners who have made unprecedented contributions to the worlds of entertainment, business, sports, fashion, science and politics. The Glamour Women of the Year Fund initiative will honor Nujood Ali and Shada Nasser. L’Oreal Paris is the title sponsor of the celebration at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

The 2008 Women of the Year are profiled in the December issue of Glamour, on newsstands November 11, with a stunning photo portfolio by renowned hotographers, including Norman Jean Roy. The awards ceremony was held Monday, November 10, with a star-studded list of presenters and a special performance by recording artist Fergie.

Each year honorees are nominated by Glamour’s Women of the Year Advisory Board, which is made up of past honorees ranging from Diane von Furstenberg to Nora Ephron to Queen Latifah.

Glamour’s Women of the Year has had an impact on politics and society that literally saves lives. Glamour continues to support the Women of the Year Fund initiative, which translates the message of the event into action. The magazine’s 12 million readers can contribute to charities supported by the Women of the Year Fund–and see the impact their activism has. Readers can donate at and watch their contributions make a difference in the pages of Glamour, which will follow the progress of the recipients.

Leave a Reply