First Annual Comics Convention concludes

New Delhi: India’s First Annual Comics Convention organized by Twenty Onwards Media took place at Dilli Haat, New Delhi over the weekend. It was an effort put in to celebrate the love for comics and give a boost to the Comic industry.

The Convention was inaugurated by Mr. Satish Kumar, Director, National Book Trust (NBT) alongwith Mr. Subodh Varma, Chairman, Usha Lexus.

“The idea was to have India’s very own Comics Convention. Our effort was to bring together the Retailers, Publishers, Merchandisers, Writers, artists, Illustrators etc. from within the Comic Community inclusive of the experienced lot and the new crop and give them a common platform. The response was overwhelming both from the participation and footfall front”, said Jatin Varma, Organiser, Comic Con and Founder, Twenty Onwards Media.

The convention included a book fair featuring the biggest comics/graphic publishers in India and Abroad. There was a Special Lifetime Achievement Award Ceremony for Mr. Anant Pai, Creator of Tinkle, which has been entertaining and educating children all over India for over 30 years. Addressing this ceremony was Mr. Pran, the creator of Chacha Chaudhry.

The convention also witnessed an exclusive screening of the First Ever Documentary on Indian Comics ‘Chitrakatha’ on both days.

There were almost 30 workshops – ranging from a workshop on writing comics to an interactive session; from fun stuff to the more academic ones. There were multiple workshops by Vimanika Comics and Amar Chitra Katha. Also, there were workshops by Vaibhav Kumaresh the creator of Simpoo Singh, Level 10 Comics, Campfire Comics, Orijit Sen, one of India’s First Graphic Novelists amongst others.

The convention boasted over 50 participants which included 35 companies. The List of Participants included Vimanika Comics, National Book Trust, Green Gold Animation, Wilco Publishing House, Archie Comics, Creative Gaga Magazine, Crossword Bookstores, Digital Signage Networks, Diamond Comics, Happily Unmarried, ACK Media, Campfire Graphic Novels, SpaceToon India, Manta Ray Comics, Blaft Publications, Mocha: Coffees & Conversations, Picasso Animation College, Harper Collins India, Mr. Rroshan Chowdhary, Robosoft Technologies, Avenger Toys, Level 10 Comics, Mr.Kshiraj Telang, Anibeez School Of Animation, Dial A Book, Rahul Commerce, Mediology Software, The Animation Society Of India, Cartoon Watch India, Time Out India, Times Group Books, Chitra Katha: Alok Sharma, The Ravanayan Project, Indian War Comics, Animation Xpress.Com,Indian Television.Com, World Comics India, Tara Books, Vivalok Comics, Lot Pot Comics, Mr. Vaibhav Kumaresh, Mr. Dheeraj Verma, Mr. Abhijeet Kini, Mr. Neelabh Bannerjee, Mr. Orijit Sen, Mr. Vivek Goel, Mr. Vijayendra Mohanty, Mr. Saad Akhtar and Mr. Vishwajyoti Ghosh.

Now, after years, the comics’ community in India has a platform where they can meet and interact. This is just the first step to set a brighter future for comics in India.

Leave a Reply