Financial Express announces India's Best Banks Award Winners

Best Banks Award Winners
Lifetime Achievement Award :KV Kamat MD & CEO ICICI Bank
Banker of the Year : OP Bhatt Chairman State Bank Of India
Most Innovative Banker : Aditya Puri MD & CEO HDFC Bank
Category Nationalised Bank : MS Sundara Rajan CMD Indian Bank ,TS Narayanasami CMD Bank of India
New Private Sector Bank : PJ Nayak Chairman and CEO Axis Bank , Aditya Puri MD & CEO HDFC Bank
Old Private Sector Bank : VA Joseph MD & CEO,South Indian Bank , G Narayanamoorthy MD & CEO ,Tamilnad Mercantile Bank
Foreign Bank : Vishwavir Ahuja MD & CEO, Bank of America , Mark Robinson CEO,Citibank
Growth : Gunit Chadha MD & CEO,Deutsche Bank
Profitability : Neeraj Swaroop Regional Chief Executive,CEO,India&South Asia,Standard Chartered Bank
Credit Quality : MV Nair CMD,Union Bank
Soundness : Aditya Puri MD & CEO HDFC Bank
Efficiency : Vishwavir Ahuja MD & CEO,Bank of America

The Financial Express, the leading business daily from The Express Group today presented fe INDIA’S BEST BANKS AWARDS, with the intent to honour banks that have delivered exemplary performance on various parameters including growth, profitability and strength and soundness in the last financial year. The awards were conferred at a glittering ceremony, at The Crystal Ballroom, The Taj Mahal Palace & Towers, Mumbai and presided over by The Hon’ble Union Minister of Finance, Mr. Pranab Mukjerjee. Leaders of India’s financial sector including heads of banks, industry stalwarts and luminaries graced the occasion.

The awards featured coveted trophies in nine clearly defined categories based on the fe INDIA’S BEST BANKS survey. Trophies were awarded to the top two among each of the following categories: Nationalized Bank, Old Private Sector Bank, New Private Sector Bank and Foreign Bank. Individual Bankers were also awarded for Lifetime Achievement, Best Banker of the year and the Best Innovator. This apart, awards were given to the best performing banks on the following parameters: Strength & Soundness, Growth, Profitability, Efficiency and Credit Quality. The methodology adopted by the survey was rigorous and based on extensive crunching of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) data by Ernst &Young, the knowledge partner to the fe INDIA’S BEST BANKS awards.

The illustrious jury list comprised Rajesh Chakrabarti, Assistant Professor of Finance, Indian School of Business, Pramod Bhasin, President & CEO, Genpact, Anand Mahindra, Vice-Chairman & MD, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., Vijay Mahajan, Chairman, BASIX, Arvind Sharma, Chairman & CEO, Leo Burnett, Manpreet Singh Badal, Finance Minister, Punjab, Jignesh Shah, MD & CEO, MCX, Nandan M. Nilekani, Co-Chairman of the Board, Infosys Technologies, Kalpana Morparia, CEO, JP Morgan India, Priya Paul, Chairman, Apeejay Park Hotels, C.S. Rao, Former Chairman, IRDA, Vinod Rai, Comptroller and Auditor General of India, S.S. Kohli, CMD, India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd.

Says Editor-in-Chief, The Express Group, Shekhar Gupta, “The fe India’s Best Banks survey has come to be acknowledged in banking and financial circles as the definitive word on the industry and its performance. This time around, FE has decided to acknowledge the country’s best banks and the people who run them by way of an awards ceremony.”

Focusing on the dynamic scenario that Indian banks face today, the awards ceremony also featured a high-powered panel discussion titled “‘Lessons from the turmoil: new challenges in profitability and growth’, in line with the theme of this year’s survey. The panel comprised Chanda Kochhar, Managing Director & CEO, ICICI Bank , O P Bhatt, Chairman, State Bank of India , S S Kohli, Chairman & MD, India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd. , Manisha Girotra, Chairperson, UBS Securities Ltd , Naina Lal Kidwai, General Manager & Country Head, HSBC – India, S Nagnath, Chairman & CIO, DSP Black Rock Investment Managers Ltd. , Vishwavir Ahuja, CEO, Bank of America (India).

Leave a Reply