ESPNCricinfo Awards 2010 winners unveiled

Bangalore : VVS Laxman and Dale Steyn have won the top honours in the ESPNcricinfo Awards 2010, which celebrate the best individual performances in 2010 by batsmen and bowlers in Tests, one-day internationals and Twenty20 cricket.

ESPNcricinfo, the world’s leading cricket website, announced the awards in Bangalore on February 14. The winning performances were by cricketers from India, Pakistan, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

India’s VVS Laxman won the Test batting performance award in recognition for his match-turning 96 against South Africa in the second Test in Durban. Laxman put India in control of a match where no one else made more than a half-century.

South African Dale Steyn’s sensational 7 for 51 on an unresponsive pitch in Nagpur won him the award for the best bowling performance of the year.

Laxman’s India team-mate Sachin Tendulkar took the best ODI batting performance honour for his remarkable 200 not out, the first-ever double hundred in the history of one-day cricket, against South Africa in Gwalior.

The award for the best Twenty20 batting performance of 2010 went to Australia’s Michael Hussey, who scored 22 runs off four balls in the last over to win Australia the semi-final of the World Twenty20, against Pakistan.

The best Twenty20 bowling performance award went to New Zealand’s Tim Southee, for an outstanding spell which fetched him five wickets in nine deliveries against Pakistan in Auckland.

Pakistan’s Umar Gul was awarded the best ODI bowling performance award for his role in the third ODI against England last year, taking 6 for 42. His impressive bowling allowed Pakistan to come back into the series after having been 0-2 down.

This year’s awards were voted on by a jury of cricket greats and cricket experts, which includes Geoffrey Boycott (former England opener), Ian Chappell (former Australia captain), Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman), Martin Crowe (former New Zealand captain), Ramiz Raja (former Pakistan captain), Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler) and Sambit Bal (Editor, ESPNcricinfo).

The ESPNcricinfo Awards were established in 2007. Previous winners include Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachin Tendulkar and Chris Gayle.

The awards are held just days before the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup on February 19. ESPN is delivering multi-platform coverage that celebrates the past and present of cricket’s premier one-day tournament, with ESPNcricinfo delivering coverage online and on mobile devices. In addition to ball-by-ball text commentary, match reports and analyses, and live statistics, the site’s World Cup coverage also includes high-quality video features, a specially produced travel section and a Fantasy game.

Leave a Reply