DIT Approves Data Centres in 27 states

The Department of Information Technology (DIT) has approved establishment of State Data Centres (SDC) in 27 States/UTs for a total outlay of Rs. 1237 Crores. The DIT Share in this outlay is Rs. 412.00 Crores, while the remaining 825.00 Crores are to be met through Additional Central Assistance (ACA). Through the State Data Centres, the Government seeks to create a common secure IT infrastructure to host state level e-Governance applications/Data to enable seamless delivery of Government to Government (G2G), Government to Citizen (G2C) and Government to Business (G2B) services. These Centres are to be duly supported by State Wide Area Network (SWAN) and Common Service Centres (CSC) established at the village level, as part of e-Governance project.

The States whose proposals have been approved are: Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhatisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Orissa, Punducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar,Uttarakhand, Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram.

An amount of Rs. 84.06 crores of DIT share and Rs. 64.25 Crores of ACA Share has been released to 23 States. Release of DIT share of Rs. 12.50 Crores is under process to 4 more States (Bihar, Uttarakhand, Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram). Remaining states/ UTs who have not submitted the proposals are being requested to expedite the same. State wise release of funds is annexed.

Draft RFP received from Govt. of Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Sikkim, Goa & Kerala are being examined by DIT. After formal approval of these RFPs, it is expected that the States shall be in a position to release the RFPs by November 2008.

State Data Centre Scheme for establishing Data Centres across 35 States/UTs across the country was approved by the Government on 24th January 2008 with a total outlay of Rs.1623.20 Crores towards the Capital and Operational expenses over a period of 5 years. The States/UTs have been categorized in three categories viz: Large, Medium and Small.

It is expected that the Data Centres in about 12-15 States, shall be set up and operationalised by end June 2009. Data Centre in the remaining States/UTs shall be progressively implemented from August 2009 onwards and the entire exercise is expected to be completed by December 2009/March 2010. Typical time for implementation for State Data Centre is about 10 to 12 months.

Once established, State Data Centre would provide many functionalities including Central Repository of the State, Secure Data Storage, Online Delivery of Services, Citizen Information/Services Portal, State Intranet Portal, Remote Management and Service Integration etc to enable seamless delivery of e- Governance services in the State. The progress of implementation of Data Centre is centrally being reviewed by the DIT with the States.

As the Data Centres shall be hosting critical and sensitive government data, the ownership, strategic control and management/preservation of the Data is being kept with the government. The Data Centre shall have all the physical and logic security components necessary from information security perspective, and also will need to be ISO27001 certificated. Further, the security audit of the Data Centre has been mandated to be carried out once in six months by the States. The National Informatics Centre (NIC) would advise the States on security related framework to be put in place for SDC.

The State Data Centres which are proposed to be set up in all the States/UTs across the country shall enable aggregation of IT Infrastructure (Hardware, Storage, Networking and Software) and Management Resources and ensure better Operations, Standardization of Systems & management control leading to faster deployment and reduced costs, offering dynamic scalability as their demand grows including security related requirements and uptime of the highest order.

Leave a Reply