BBC World Service launches a news programme for South Asia

BBC World Service is reaching out to audiences across South Asia with the launch of a special English-language news and current affairs programme – broadcast from the region and tailored for the region.

From Monday 20 October, Evening Report will bring audiences in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – as well as South Asian diaspora audiences, wherever they are – half an hour of daily news and information, covering key regional developments and the most relevant global stories.

Broadcast live every weekday evening from the BBC Delhi bureau, Evening Report’s regular presenter will be Tinku Ray, a highly experienced and accomplished broadcaster and reporter.

“This is a fresh way of telling the region what’s happening across South Asia. It’s always exciting to be the launch presenter of a new and ambitious programme, and I want our millions of listeners to share in that excitement,” Tinku says.

From Monday to Friday, Evening Report is essential listening for anyone across South Asia who seeks a global perspective of the events in the region and wants to keep abreast of key world news.

Evening Report brings its South Asian audiences news and analysis of the day’s political, business and sports developments as well as human interest stories reflecting the diversity and vibrancy of the region.

News Editor, BBC World Service, Andrew Whitehead, says: “The BBC has a fantastic network of reporters across South Asia, and Evening Report will be using them to provide our listeners with up-to-the-minute news coverage and analysis of the region and beyond. This will be a lively, engaging programme – from South Asia, for South Asia.”

In its first week on air, Evening Report will feature interviews with key decision makers and political leaders across the region, among them Nepal’s new President, Ram Baran Yadav. Presenter Tinku Ray will also be reporting from India’s space centre. There are plans for Evening Report to be anchored from capital cities across the region.

Evening Report will be broadcast on shortwave across the region, on Worldspace satellite, via BBC Global News channel covering South and East Asia, and on FM in following locations: Bangladesh: Dhaka 100 FM Nepal: Kathmandu 103 FM Sri Lanka: via SLBC – Anuradhapura, Batticoloa and Tricomalee 99.6 FM, Colombo 95.6 and 96.4 FM, Galle 90.8 FM, Gampaha 96.4 FM, Kandy 96.4 FM, Matara 98.4 and 90.8 FM, Nuwara Eliya 100.2 FM.

Evening Report will be broadcast at following local times: at 8.00pm in Bangladesh; 7.30pm in India; 7.45pm in Nepal; 7.00pm in Pakistan and 7.30pm in Sri Lanka. The programme is also available in audio online, via report and at

Leave a Reply