ABC Television Airs 42nd Annual CMA Awards

ABC Television Network on Sunday aired 42nd Annual CMA Awards from the Sommet Center in Nashville, Tenn . The awards also include Broadcast personality of the year and Radio station of the year awards.

The CMA Broadcast Personality and CMA Radio Station of the Year winners were contacted on the stations’ studio lines by Covington. The CMA Broadcast Awards finalists were announced during a September press conference in Nashville by Covington and Chuck Wicks.

“I see the hard work these Country Radio stations do day in and day out,” said Covington. “I’m grateful for all they do — and so it’s really awesome to get to call them with the good news.”

“We’re thrilled to have Bucky share the good news with this year’s winners,” said Tammy Genovese, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “There are many familiar names among these winners, and this is a testament to the continued quality and excellence of Country Radio.”

Lon Helton, host of Westwood One’s “CMT Country Countdown USA with Lon Helton,” received his fourth National Broadcast Personality of the Year Award. Helton has won the most National Broadcast Personality of the Year Awards since the category’s inception in 2001.

“There is no higher honor for a Country radio personality than receiving a broadcast award from the CMA,” said Helton. “To have won this four times now (2002, 2004, 2006, 2008) is beyond belief. This year was an exceptional thrill, having been nominated with ‘American Country Countdown’ host Kix Brooks and Crook & Chase. My thanks to all the artists who give up their time to co-host the show each week and to the hundreds of stations who carry Westwood One’s ‘CMT Country Countdown USA’ each weekend.”

Five finalists are selected for Broadcast Personality of the Year and Station of the Year in four categories (small, medium, large, and major market). The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on airchecks, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership.

Three finalists are selected for National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To be eligible for National Broadcast Personality of the Year candidates must be syndicated, short-form, hub voice-tracking, and satellite personalities heard in at least three markets with a minimum of
40 shows per year.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the U.S. and Canada were eligible to enter. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions. An aggregate score of the first round of judging and the second round, which is done by a different panel of judges, determines the winners. The international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP tabulates scoring by the judges. CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2007 were not eligible in 2008.

“The 42nd Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Producer. Paul Miller is the Director. David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Premiere Radio Networks is the official radio packager of the CMA Awards, including a stereo-radio simulcast of the gala event. American Airlines is the official airline of the 2008 CMA Awards. Chevy: The Official Ride of Country Music. Mary Kay(R) is the Official Beauty Sponsor of the 2008 CMA Awards.

Leave a Reply